top of page

Aberdeen Diocesan Choir 2001 -2022 



In the year 2000 a choir was formed, accompanied by instrumentalists, to lead the music for the priestly ordination of Reverend Keith Herrera who is now Administrator of St Mary’s Cathedral, Aberdeen. Following the musical success of the event, Bishop Mario Conti, then Bishop of Aberdeen, invited David Meiklejohn, who had organised the music for the ordination in 2000, to prepare the choir to celebrate his Episcopal Silver Anniversary in May 2002. 


The enthusiasm of those that made up that choir and the support and encouragement from the clergy and parishioners established a future for a diocesan choir to lead the music and singing at ordinations and other special diocesan events throughout the liturgical year. The membership of the choir has grown, and a constitution was drafted and adopted in 2005, essentially making the choir a Private Association of the Christian Faithful, (c.299). A revision of the Constitution was undertaken. In 

consultation with Bishop Hugh Gilbert O.S.B., the revised constitution was approved by him, (c.314), and as a result the decision to erect the Private Association as A Public Association of the Christian Faithful with Juridic Personality was taken. 


Key events have included the Silver Anniversary Mass mentioned above and the installation Masses for Bishop Peter Moran and Bishop Hugh Gilbert; leading the singing at Diocesan Pilgrimages at Pluscarden Abbey; singing for Chrism Masses, Diaconate and Priestly ordinations, Cathedral Christmas services including on-line productions; singing in Paris at Notre Dame Cathedral, Sacre Coeur Basilica and the Scots Kirk there; the Papal Mass at Bellahouston Park, Magnus 900 celebrations in Orkney as well as singing in various parishes and giving recitals in St Andrew’s Cathedral. 


Sincere thanks are conveyed to successive ordinaries of Aberdeen, Bishops Mario Conti, Peter Moran and Hugh Gilbert, for their enduring support and encouragement in our service to God and His Church. 


Appreciation and gratitude is also extended to each Director of Music and every member of the choir, including those who are no longer with us, those who join us from other Christian traditions, those who have served on the management committee; our accompanist and organist Ronald Leith who was awarded the Papal Medal Pro Ecclesia et Pontifice in 2013 for musical services to the Church, as well as all those who have helped develop and maintain high levels of musicianship as well as a Christian ethos of lasting service, mutual respect and friendship. 


Directors of Music 


David Meiklejohn 2001 - 2009 

Dr Roger Williams 2009 - 2015 

Elizabeth Meiklejohn 2016 - 2022

bottom of page